Downloads and samples available here...

I Know This Road, Roger Williams' long-awaited solo album, is an eclectic collection of instrumental and vocal works, some of which he has composed and some which have caught his ear over the 40-plus years he has been navigating the music business. The instrumental numbers range from the jaunty Josh Graves' (Pretty Little) Rainbow, to an ethereal rendition of Ave Maria with banjo and bowed bass, to the sprightly Benny Goodman tune Slipped Disc. Although better known as an instrumentalist, Roger applies his rich baritone to vocal renditions of songs from songwriters such as Don Henley, Graham Nash, Gordon Lightfoot and himself. Most of the tunes are enhanced by the legendary Canadian fiddler Ray Legere, Roger's longtime musical collaborator, along with Roger's son JD Williams, an innovative and superb mandolinist in his own right. Also in the mix are bassist Bob Dick, formerly of the award-winning bluegrass group Front Range, and his brother Dave Dick, formerly of Salamander Crossing, Southern Rail and Northern Lights. Roger's longtime musical partner Amy Gallatin joins him on a few vocal efforts, most notably Vince Gill's ode to long time love, Look at Us. This album represents the hard-won experiences--the joys and the sorrows--inherent in a lifetime of living life on the road and performing worldwide.

Roger started playing the resophonic, Dobro style guitar in 1963, when he was just a young teenager. Within the first year, he had already debuted with The Lilly Brothers and Don Stover at the Hillbilly Ranch in Boston. where they had performed for nearly two decades. Since then he has gone on to perform and/or record with many well respected bluegrass and folk acts on the national and international circuit, including Don Stover, White Mountain Bluegrass, Hazel Dickens, Joe Val, Bill Harrell, Delia Bell and Bill Grant, Southern Rail, Ray Legere, Mark Schatz, Wyatt Rice, Mac Wiseman, The New England Bluegrass Band, Salamander Crossing, Slavek Hanzlik, Mark Erelli, Hiro Arita and others. Career highlights include thirteen overseas tours with various artists, including a performance at the acclaimed Dobrofest in Slovakia, and teaching workshops during Bluegrass Week at the Augusta Heritage Center in Elkins, WV. He currently does extensive studio work and performs with Amy Gallatin & Stillwaters and The Hot Flashes.

Read Bluegrass Today's review here

Read Bluegrass Unlimited's review here

The songs:

1 Medley For Dobro and Double Bass
2 I Know This Road
3 Night of the Supermoon
4 Longings
5 The Cost of Living
6 (Pretty Little) Rainbow
7 The Sleep Song
8 Ave Maria
9 Look At Us
10 Over The Waterfall/Talking In Your Sleep
11 Slipped Disc
12 Life Goes On
13 Musings
14 Don't Go Down That Road

The musicians:

Roger Williams - resophonic guitar, upright bass, guitar, vocals
JD Williams - mandolin
Ray Legere - fiddle
Dave Dick - banjo, guitar
Bob Dick - upright bass
Amy Gallatin - vocals
Steve Sleeper - guitar, vocals

Roger Williams © 2021 Website design by Roger Williams